That Gravitational Pull

 

Men look so much more sophisticated when donned in blue.

Ladies, all the more cool and laid-back.

Books with blue covers beckon me to pick them up;

Later, blue bookmarks peep from their pages.

The waters with their shades of blue,

The skies – they call on me to meet their embrace.

Flowers, no matter how aesthetically unoriginal,

Appear to be God’s most beautiful creations – when blue.

Oh! Pray, tell me, why even a smartphone

Looks all the more smart when encased in blue?

Or, a chocolate all the more mouthwatering,

When coated in blue?

Or, work, looked forward to, when

It is a blue laptop that is going to assist you?

How is it that the body mist with its

Blue contents, makes the fragrance ever so sweet?

Or, a present ever so inviting,

If gifted, wrapped in blue?

Pray, tell me, will the color rub off on me,

If I insist on continually using blue?

FullSizeRender_WM1

If nothing, tell me why, 

Why I gravitate towards you,

Blue?

For, life is anything but,

When I see you.

~ ShethP

But, honestly, it is not like I am entranced by anything and everything blue. My eyes light up only on seeing certain shades of blue. Why so? The brain and the mind is a captivating field of research, and musing on my preference for blue reminds me of a book at the library that drew me in, “The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist’s Quest for What Makes Us Human” by V. S. Ramachandran. I almost did not check out the book, but I did. And, I liked it so much that I bought a copy for myself. It has been more than two months and I still have not finished reading the entire book; it is one that you feel should be savored in parts, and I wanted to have it on my bookshelf for ready reference whenever I felt like wanting to be dazzled by seemingly rare but normal questions. Despite not being a student of Biology, I gravitated towards that book, and each chapter reveals a delightful discovery, explained in simple language, that you cannot help but be drawn into the mysteries of the mind and brain. If nothing, the book prods you to question. So, why blue, huh? Unlike the profound questions and their complex theories posited in the book, my question probably does have a definite answer, and only further research will get me closer to the key behind this preference bordering on obsession(?).

Yes, I love blue. But, why? I don’t know.

What’s your take?

5 thoughts on “That Gravitational Pull

    • Yay! 😀 Colors do add allure, though I can’t say that I am much of a color person. I prefer neutral shades, but then, blue kind of tops them all. Funny how our eyes and mind perceive colors!

      Liked by 1 person

What's your take?

